jump to navigation

Having Network problems with Linux Mint 12 April 16, 2012

Posted by phoenixcomm in DIY Aircraft Cockpit, Ethernet, Flight Simulation, Linux, Mint 12.
trackback

I recently installed a fresh copy of Linux Mint 12 (32bit) on an older motherboard (Asus P4M800pro) with an VT6102 (Rine II) on the motherboard, and a 3Com nic installed in a pci slot.

Here is the gist of what happened:

  • I had a cable plugged into the 3Com nic, and no cable plugged into the Rine II.
  • I tried in vain to configure the Rine II but when you clicked on the jack icon at the top of the screen, the 3Com nic was in black and the Rine II was grayed out.
  • So I went through the Applications/System Settings/Network: I saw both nics. The 3Com showed all the info (address, mac, mask, dns, etc), and a dark configure box.
  • But when I clicked other wired network (Rine II) all it showed me that it was unplugged and the mac address. But it would not let me configure the nic.

After using the system for about a week with out the nic working, I had a bright idea, I would plug in the Rine II into a switch (not going anywhere)

BINGO! That did it and now it let me configure the port..

POSTMORTEM:  I have been a Unix developer, system administrator for over 35 years and for the past 12+ years it had been working on Sun UltraSPARC’s and a few OpenBSD transparent firewalls.  No mater if the cable was plugged in or not, it should have let me configure the nic.

Comments»

1. Paul Blackburn - May 1, 2012

My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog. He was entirely right. This submit truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

