jump to navigation

Arduino Trials and Tribulations, Part 1 April 30, 2011

Posted by phoenixcomm in 16 Segment driver, Arduino, DIY Aircraft Cockpit, Flight Simulation, Linux, ps2 keybaord, Software.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Well I finally got my Arduino Duemilanove and prototype shields, there should be a Ethernet shield, and a LCD shield on its way. I wanted to try and use it on my Navigation Computer Display. To my horror I noticed that you could not stack on top of the prototype shield!

This really stinks I picked them up on ebay. I am going to have to modify the shields, grrr. I found the stacking headers at Adafruit for $1.50 per set.  Not bad.

The Analysis    I need to light four 16 segment lamps and thirteen 7 segment lamps, plus two lamps which will be bi-color leds. So thats lots of wire. My choice  of 16 segment display decoders are far and few between. The first one I looked at was an intersil ICM7243 interfaces with most microprocessors right on its memory bus. but can only handle 8 characters. So I would need two of them plus more glue to handle the last 7 segment display and the two lamps.  The next victims are the Maxim Max6954 with 4 wire interface, or the Max6955 with I2C interface. Other wise they both share the same specifications: They will drive up to 16 displays with mix of 7, 14, or 16 segments. It also has five GPIO pins that can be configured as a keyboard with up to 32 keys with n-key rollover, and built in debounce. The only down side is that they have eighteen  registers to configure the part.  I also need to interface the 2 rotary switches, and well as both thumb wheel switches.  I want to use a ps2 keyboard for testing the display system.

The Plan: Testing    I just go in two of the Max6955AAX+ in 36 pin SSOP package, and my eyes are to old, so I found Proto Advantage not only do they have a great price for the adapters plus they will mount the parts for me. In the meantime I happen to have a Max6954 in a 40 pin PDIP package. I will put it on a breadboard and wire it with a few displays and try to figure out the driver that I will need. – later

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

