jump to navigation

Arduino Trials and Tribulations, Part 3 May 4, 2011

Posted by phoenixcomm in Arduino, DIY Aircraft Cockpit, Flight Simulation, Linux, ps2 keybaord, Software.
Tags: , ,
trackback

It’s Alive, and how I got there!    I made my share of nubie mistakes. There where three right off the bat: First make sure that your serial monitor is the same speed as your program; Two and a big one, make sure you check under Tools->board->(pick your board), and lastly Tools->Serial Port->COM3.  It seems that my keyboard drvier sends out some ASCII (thats good), and some scan codes (thats bad). It looks like the ps2 keyboard driver is sanitizing my out puts for me, so I’m ahead of the game.

Key Press HEX Key Press HEX
0 30 NL 77
1 31 / E0,2F,E0
2 32 * 7C
3 33 7B
4 34 + 79
5 35 ENT E0,D,E0
6 36 DEL 71
7 37
8 38
9 39

Remember I only need to generate 0 through 9, KEYBOARD, TARGET, CLEAR, and ENTER. I like to to take the easy way so I will use: 0 through 9, *, -, +, and DEL keys, that way I don’t have to mess with the scan codes, in my program.

Now I have to hack a ps2 keyboard, to remove the keyboard controller, ps2 cable, and the thin plastic sheets with the keyboard layout you will need them, and put the shell, etc into the garbage.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

