jump to navigation

MSI 880GM-E43 Motherboard Ethernet problems updated September 17, 2011

Posted by phoenixcomm in Ethernet, Motherboard, Windows 7 Ultimate.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Oh well back to Ethernet problems. We just had a small black out last night, I guess I blew the beaker. And would you know the same problem again. My Pc was bitching about the cable being unplugged!  Ok I went to my Network Connections and then Proprieties and then clicked on Configure, and then Advanced, and checked my Speed & Duplex settings, and set it to 10 Mb full duplex and we had connection, just a little slow, so I reset it to 100 Mb full duplex and ended up with no connection.  Ok maybe the driver took a hit. So I went to MSI and downloaded their driver again, just to make sure. Windows told me that we where up to date. Oh Joy. I slept on it.

Next Day I went to http://www.realtek.com and found out they have both 32 and 64 bit versions of their driver.  So I downloaded the 64 bit version, and in driver tab it ask if you want to update the driver. Why not. so I pointed to where I stored the new driver, and guess what? It now auto negotiates.  Life is good.

BTW MSI offered to upgrade me to a newer motherboard for free. (good guys).

Postmortem: One of these days I have to make my Sun Solaris box my desktop. I have NEVER have had driver problems with it.

Comments»

1. Kendal Banfill - March 23, 2012

I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

phoenixcomm - March 23, 2012

Not really, most of the stuff that I post is highly technical. And I do not post pictures for pictures sake.. I only post picture and diagram where I feel they amplify the content. And if you did not understand something that I wrote, well hey, Just as me a question. Thanks CAH


Leave a Reply

